GuFf

because gluten-free food doesn't have to be rubbish

Detox

with one comment

I’m not usually one to overdo it, except maybe on adding garlic to recipes and oh, yeah, eating too much, but I’m sure it can’t do any harm to drink some detoxifying and veg-rich drinks to start my new year. I mean I’ve certainly not been mainlining port and stilton for the past two weeks, but I suspect all the turkey, and ham, and potatoes, oh and chocolate, ooh and wine, may not have been amazing for me. I equally suspect that drinking a yoghurty mixture with fruit and veg in it isn’t actually going to make a mite of difference to my health, my arteries or my skin but it keeps me happy, and hey, isn’t that the best medicine of all?

I admit these may not be the most super of fruits in this smoothie, they may not have the best detoxifying power in the world, but at least they taste nice. I’ll spare you the details of my cleansing beetroot concoction. Needless to say, no matter how much ginger you add to beetroot juice, it still tastes like beetroot.

Kiwi, cucumber and mint smoothie

At least keep the skin on the cucumber to help polish your halo.

Ingredients
1 kiwi, peeled and sliced
1/2 large cucumber, roughly chopped
4 tablespoons yoghurt
6 mint leaves
200ml apple juice
200ml water

Method
1. Place all the ingredients in a large blender and blend for 20 seconds or until smooth. There will be small bits of cucumber skin which will make the smoothie look all pretty. And some little kiwi seeds there too.

Makes 2 large smoothies.

Written by guffblog

4th January 2011 at 22:25

Posted in Drink

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Must try harder, B+. ;c)

    some doofus

    10th January 2011 at 21:51


Leave a Reply

