GuFf

because gluten-free food doesn't have to be rubbish

Pumpkin slice

leave a comment »

In my efforts to find quick recipes for doing away with pumpkin puree I stumbled across these little slices, posted recently on Elana‘s site. This is a wonderful site for coeliacs as not only are all her recipes gluten free, but she uses almond flour in her recipes making them super healthy and rich in protein. Personally, I like to keep my options open with regards to butter, double cream, refined sugar and the like but it’s handy to have a source for healthy recipes if the mood takes me. And let’s be honest, quite often the healthiest recipes are the simplest. Such is the case with these pumpkin slices, which took a grand total of four minutes to throw together. Apart from the eggs these have no fat and no refined sugar, plus if you use all almond flour they will be full of protein, so will keep you going from tea to dinner (I don’t know about you but tea is an actual meal in my day, about 4.30pm, and I tend to feel all funny if I miss it). I’ve had a slowly diminishing tray of these in the fridge for 5 days now and they’re still just as good as when I first baked them. Think of them as a healthier version of Kendal mint cake. Minus the sugar. And the mint. And with pumpkin instead. Well, you get the idea anyway…

Pumpkin slices
Adapted from Elana’s pantry

Ingredients
1/2 cup (200g) pumpkin puree
5 tablespoons (75ml) acacia honey
2 eggs
1/4 cup (30g) ground almond meal
3/4 cup (110g) gf flour blend
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Method
1. Preheat the oven to 160 C.

2. In a large bowl beat the pumpkin puree, honey and eggs together. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until completely combined, then pour into a parchment-lined 8×8″ baking tin (I used my trusty 9×9 silicone pan).

3. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes (up this to 30 or even 35 minutes if using an 8×8 pan).

I’m sure you can do the maths as to how many this recipe makes. I cut mine into 20 slices, about 2″ on each side. They keep in a sealed container for at least 4-5 days in the fridge.

Written by guffblog

8th November 2010 at 19:39

Posted in Cakes

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

